March 29, 2020
  • 6:35 am THE REFEREE 2/2
  • 6:35 am Inside the School that Trains Umpires
  • 6:28 am Quinnipiac men’s lacrosse coach no longer with university following student conduct violations
  • 6:28 am how to increase your concentration on ball while batting | Batting Technique | Cricket |
  • 6:28 am How to Play Cricket : How to Throw a Short Distance Ball in Cricket
Basketball Equipment & Rules : The Double Dribble Rule in Basketball


Whenever you’re working on your ball handling
which we will talk about a little bit later. When you’re working on your ball handling,
you want to always remember, when you’re starting out dribbling, you don’t want to practice
wrong. Practice makes perfect, is what they say. But, I say “perfect practice, makes perfect.”
So, when you’re learning to dribble, don’t dribble with both hands on the ball, because
that’s the simple violation we call double dribble, double dribble. Now, when you’re,
not, not to double dribble what you have to do is, once you catch the ball, you want to
take the ball and release your hand and dribble and dribble and dribble. But, you do not want
to, when the ball comes back up you cannot put your hand back on it and another thing
you cannot do, absolutely cannot do, is once you stop, you cannot stop and put both hands
on the ball and start to dribble again, because there again you have double dribble. So, keep
that in mind whenever you?re practicing your drills, which we’re going to talk about a
little bit later, at the ball handling.

David Frank

RELATED ARTICLES

20 COMMENTS

  1. makaveli shaman Posted on April 30, 2011 at 12:40 am

    so why do they have a black guy teaching this again?

    Reply
  2. MrVideomagic101 Posted on January 9, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    very helpful for me

    Reply
  3. fanatical16 Posted on February 19, 2012 at 12:08 am

    Lol i did that on!gym class last friday hahaha!! They keep calling double dribling and i was like wat is that? Haha not really familiar at basketball rules hahah anyway its not a real game haha… Helps me alot th ks

    Reply
  4. OJtheManofJuice Posted on March 11, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    i constantly see guys in the ncaa and nba dribble the ball touch it with two hands and then resume dribbling. How is that not a double dribble? Is there a difference between stopping and touching it for 1-2 seconds as opposed to 3-4 seconds. It makes no sense to me what is and what is not a double dribble when i see players touch the ball with both hands and continue their dribble, and i see this constantly not once or twice a game

    Reply
  5. Han Brolo Posted on May 15, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    3 steps are legal?

    Reply
  6. Carlos Alvarez Posted on June 13, 2013 at 2:40 am

    Now i understand

    Reply
  7. BryanX 64 Posted on June 27, 2013 at 11:04 pm

    So what about people that pump fake? Is it not a double dribble then? They stopped and continued to dribble, technically.

    Reply
  8. Gino DF Posted on July 13, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    If you catch the ball and Pump fake, then start moving again, that's not Double Dribble. But if you catch the ball and dribble then pump fake and dribble again, that's Double Dribble. Understand?

    Reply
  9. Stana Stana Posted on September 15, 2013 at 7:00 pm

    hi, can you give me your oppinion about one situation?One player is dribling the ball, and than stops in order to assist or shot, and other players from oppenent team are playing defence(ofcourse), ball bounce from hands of attacker to leg of defender, than on the floor, and the attacker takes it back again, without dribling, or doing anything else, just returning possesion…is it considered as double drible?
    thanks

    Reply
  10. BackwardsRamo Posted on November 16, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    if someone throws the ball to u, and u catch it can u still dibble and like go score a basket or will it be a double dribble ?

    Reply
  11. mellow mike Posted on July 16, 2014 at 7:40 pm

    How come people catch the ball then keep the ball low with both hands and start dribbling again? Isn't that double dribbling?

    Reply
  12. sirbrad4 Posted on March 21, 2015 at 9:28 pm

    Unless you power dribble for a dunk two hand is legal.

    Reply
  13. Jakub Posted on June 20, 2016 at 11:33 pm

    It's legal in nba to stop dribbling and start again once.

    Reply
  14. Luke Robbins Posted on July 5, 2016 at 2:16 pm

    This video really helped thanks expert village

    Reply
  15. Rafa El Posted on July 25, 2017 at 1:37 pm

    what if i dribble, then i make a fake spin, and go back to the 1st direction and dribbling again? all of that with only my right hand, is it legal?

    Reply
  16. Chong Kangyi Posted on December 20, 2017 at 2:41 pm

    but in the 'how not to double dribble' demo he only released the ball with one hand n started dribbling with the another,isnt that double dribbling?Please explain.

    Reply
  17. JamesthaGoat 1 Posted on May 8, 2018 at 3:24 pm

    That hlep me a lot

    Reply
  18. joseph's basketball account Posted on May 11, 2018 at 2:28 am

    Top info over dribbelen nadat je een bal vangt.

    Reply
  19. zeus72385 Posted on January 5, 2020 at 12:25 am

    It needs to be mentioned that a player is allowed ONE dribble with both hands. Example, post players use the “power dribble” which is one hard two handed dribble and then either shoot or pass the ball.

    Reply
  20. Ethan Duff Posted on February 17, 2020 at 2:30 am

    Why when I watch nba players, they feet passed the ball the hold it for a couple of seconds then dribble again how do they do it without getting called a double dribble?

    Reply
LEAVE A COMMENT